The Girl on the Train

The Girl on the Train By Paula Hawkins - US Hardcover


The Girl on the Train



Rachel takes the same commuter train every morning. Every day she rattles down the track, flashes past a stretch of cozy suburban homes, and stops at the signal that allows her to daily watch the same couple breakfasting on their deck. She’s even started to feel like she knows them. “Jess and Jason,” she calls them. Their life—as she sees it—is perfect. Not unlike the life she recently lost.

And then she sees something shocking. It’s only a minute until the train moves on, but it’s enough. Now everything’s changed. Unable to keep it to herself, Rachel offers what she knows to the police, and becomes inextricably entwined in what happens next, as well as in the lives of everyone involved. Has she done more harm than good?

Compulsively readable, The Girl on the Train is an emotionally immersive, Hitchcockian thriller and an electrifying debut.

Read an Excerpt


The Girl on the Train has more fun with unreliable narration than any chiller since Gone Girl. . . . The Girl on the Train has Gone Girl–type fun with unreliable spouses, too. The Girl on the Train is liable to draw a large, bedazzled readership too. . . . The Girl on the Train is full of back-stabbing, none of it literal. . . . Hawkins keeps all these fibs, threats and innuendoes swirling through her book, to the point where they frighten and undermine each of her characters. ”
—Janet Maslin, The New York Times

“Assured and confident… building inescapable tension. The thriller scene will have to up its game if its to match Hawkins this year.”
—The Observer (UK)

“[A] twisty thriller . . . It’s being called the next Gone Girl.”
USA Today

“My vote for unreliable narrator of the year goes to the star of The Girl on the Train
The Times

“Like its train, the story blasts through the stagnation of these lives in suburban London and the reader cannot help but turn pages. . . . The welcome echoes of Rear Window throughout the story and its propulsive narrative make The Girl on the Train an absorbing read.”
The Boston Globe


“Compulsive reading”
Marie Claire

“Trains haven’t been this interesting since Miss Marple”
Saga Magazine

“Reminiscent of Hitchcock’s Rear Window and The Silent Wife, a novel that grabbed me from the start and didn’t let go”
Woman & Home

“[The Girl on the Train] pulls off a thriller’s toughest trick: carefully assembling everything we think we know, until it reveals the one thing we didn’t see coming.”
Entertainment Weekly

Gone Girl fans will devour this psychological thriller. . . . Hawkins’s debut ends with a twist that no one—least of all its victims—could have seen coming.”

The Girl on the Train is as tautly constructed as Gone Girl or A.S.A. Harrison’s The Silent Wife, and has something more: a main character who is all screwed up but sympathetic nonetheless. Broken,  but dear. …No matter how well it’s written, a suspense novel can fall apart in the last pages, with an overly contrived or unbelievable ending. Here, The Girl on the Train shines, with its mystery resolved by a left-field plot twist that works, followed, surprisingly, by what you might call a happy ending.”

“Given the number of titles that are declared to be ‘the next’ of a bestseller . . . book fans have every right to be wary. But Paula Hawkins’ novel The Girl on the Train just might have earned the title of ‘the next Gone Girl.”
Christian Science Monitor 

“Hawkins’s taut story roars along at the pace of, well, a high-speed train. …Hawkins delivers a smart, searing thriller that offers readers a 360-degree view of lust, love, marriage and divorce.”
Good Housekeeping

“There’s nothing like a possible murder to take the humdrum out of your daily commute.”

“Paula Hawkins has come up with an ingenious slant on the currently fashionable amnesia thriller. . . . Hawkins juggles perspectives and timescales with great skill, and considerable suspense builds up along with empathy for an unusual central character.”
The Guardian

“I’m calling it now: The Girl on the Train is the next Gone Girl. Paula Hawkins’s highly anticipated debut novel is a dark, gripping thriller with the shocking ending you crave in a noir-ish mystery.”

“Rachel takes the same train into London every day, daydreaming about the lives of the occupants in the homes she passes. But when she sees something unsettling from her window one morning, it sets in motion a chilling series of events that make her question whom she can really trust.”
Woman’s Day

“Psychologically astute debut . . .  The surprise-packed narratives hurtle toward a stunning climax, horrifying as a train wreck and just as riveting.”
Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“[A] chilling, assured debut. . . . Even the most astute readers will be in for a shock as Hawkins slowly unspools the facts, exposing the harsh realities of love and obsession’s inescapable links to violence.”
Kirkus (starred review)

“intricate, multilayered psychological suspense debut, from a staggered timeline and three distinct female narrators. Rachel, who is unabashed in her darker instincts, anchors the narrative. Readers will fear, pity, sympathize and root for her, though she’s not always understandable or trustworthy. . . . En route to a terrorizing and twisted conclusion, all three women—and the men with whom they share their lives—are forced to dismantle their delusions about others and themselves, their choices and their respective relationships.”
Shelf Awareness

“This month we’re gearing up for Paula Hawkins’s mystery The Girl on the Train. Its three narrators keep readers guessing as they try to suss out who’s behind one character’s shocking disappearance. Can you figure out who did it before they do?”
Martha Stewart Living

“What a thriller!”
People Style Watch

“Hawkins keeps the tension ratcheted high in this thoroughly engrossing tale of intersecting strangers and intimate betrayals. Kept me guessing until the very end.”
—Lisa Gardner, #1 New York Times–bestselling author of the Detective D. D. Warren series

“I simply could not put it down.”
—Tess Gerritsen, New York Times–bestselling author of the Rizzoli and Isles series

“Gripping, enthralling—a top-notch thriller and a compulsive read.”
—S. J. Watson, New York Times–bestselling author of Before I Go to Sleep

“Be ready to be spellbound, ready to become as  obsessed. . . . The Girl on the Train is the kind of book you’ll want to press into the hands of everyone you know, just so they  can share your obsession and you can relive it.”
—Laura Kasischke, author of The Raising 

“What a group of characters, what a situation, what a book! It’s Alfred Hitchcock for a new generation and a new era.”
—Terry Hayes, author of I Am Pilgrim

“Artfully crafted and utterly riveting. The Girl on the Train’s clever structure and expert pacing will keep you perched on the edge of your seat, but it’s Hawkins’s deft, empathetic characterization that will leave you pondering this harrowing, thought-provoking story about the power of memory and the danger of envy.”
—Kimberly McCreight, New York Times–bestselling author of Reconstructing Amelia 

US Bookseller Reviews

“WOW! This is a thriller of a novel with an undercurrent of poignancy throughout…[with] a plot that kept me on the edge of my seat and twists that were cleverly constructed…This novel will appeal to lovers of well-written fiction, period.”
Carolyn Hutton, A Great Good Place for Books, Oakland, CA

The Girl on the Train is compulsively readable, bringing the term unreliable narrator to a new level! Loved it.”
—Cathy Langer, Tattered Cover Bookstore, Denver, CO

“I read The Girl on the Train in one day and absolutely loved it! Such a great read, combining an Agatha Christie (4:50 from Paddington) storyline with the psychological tone of Patricia Highsmith. Definitely a page turner. All in all, very well done!”
—Adrian Newell, Warwick’s, La Jolla, CA

“Great psychological thriller. Who really did it?”
—Annie Philbrick, Bank Square Books, Inc., Mystic, CT

“A great read for fans of Gone Girl and The Never List, The Girl on the Train is an incredible psychological thriller that will keep you reading late into the night – with the blinds drawn and the doors locked!”
—Samantha Goodman, Warwick’s, La Jolla, CA

“One of the most compelling thrillers I have read in years…a twisting, turning mystery of deception and misdirection…Just when you believe you have a grasp on the entire mystery, Hawkins pulls the rug out from under you with yet another breath-taking plot revelation…Like Patricia Highsmith or Ruth Rendell…One of the best thrillers in ages.”
—Bill Carl, Booksellers on Fountain Square, Cincinnati, OH

This twisted story of secrets and deception held my attention from the first page to the last…Rear Window pales in comparison!”
—Jennifer, Blue Willow Bookshop, Houston, TX

“Excellent…Put aside some time, this is a read-in-one-sitting book.  For fans of  S.J. Watson, Gillian Flynn, and Tana French.”
—Sally Woods, Murder By The Book, Houston, TX

“Gorgeous! This book is going to be a huge success, I loved it.”
—Melanie, Arcadia Books, Spring Green, WI

The Girl on the Train is simply one of the best books I’ve read in a long time…The way Hawkins weaves their stories together is masterful. I stayed up until one in the morning because I just couldn’t put it down.”
—Sherri Gallentine, Vroman’s Bookstore, Pasadena, CA

“As the story evolves, so did my feelings about the characters in this novel. Couldn’t read it fast enough to figure out what was going on!!! Loved it!”
—Nona Carollo Camuel, Coffee Tree Books, Morehead, KY

The Girl on the Train is a fast ride that has many twists and turns…Paula Hawkins keeps readers guessing until the end and then a surprise! Not what I expected! A great thriller! Couldn’t put it down!”
—Stephanie, Page and Palette, Fairhope, AL

“Wow, what a terrific mystery. I love watching people from trains so Rachel’s watching a couple on her daily commuter train ride immediately grabbed my attention. As the plot began to unfold I could not put the book down. Hawkins first thriller is one of the best I’ve read this year.”
—Sarah Knight, Northshire Bookstore, Manchester Center, VT

(back to top)